Birth and Death Certificates
On January 1, 2021 a new vital records law and rules went into effect in Washington State. This changed the ordering requirements for birth and death certificates.
- For increased security of personal information, only individuals with specific relationships to the person on the record can receive a certified certificate.
- Noncertified informational copies of birth and death certificates can be requested by anyone. Noncertified informational copies of records do not get issued on the certified paper with security features. They cannot be used for legal purposes. It will contain a watermark stating “Cannot be used for legal purposes. Informational only.” Please check with the agency or organization requesting the record before ordering an informational copy.
- Proof of identity and proof of eligibility documentation is required for all certified certificates.
- The certificate fee increased to $25.00 per copy.
- A qualified applicant may grant a representative permission to receive a certificate on their behalf. The qualified applicant and the authorized representative are required to complete the Authorized Representative Form which must be submitted along with a completed order form within 60 days of it being notarized.
- Certified certificates can typically be issued during normal business hours with these guidelines:
- We can access Washington state births from 1907 to present.
- We can access most deaths that occurred in Washington State from January 1, 2008 to present.
- For deaths prior to 2008, certificates must be ordered from the Washington State Department of Health
- Birth Certificate Order Printable Form
- Death Certificate Order Printable Form
- Informational Copy Order Printable Form
How to Order
Fill out order form and submit with all necessary documents.
- Birth Certificate Online Order Form
- Death Certificate Online Order Form
- Birth & Death Certificates Information Copies Online Order Form
- Certified certificates can typically be issued during normal business hours.
- We are open for in-person service Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
- No appointment required.
- We accept credit/debit cards*, cash, check, and money orders.
- *Fee charged for all credit/debit transactions is $2.00 or 2.35%, whichever is greater.
- Payment by check or money order only. Payable to "TCHD".
ATTN: Vital Records
Thurston County Public Health & Social Services
412 Lilly Road NE
Olympia, WA 98506-5132
Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth and Fetal Death Certificates
The death of a child is devastating for families and communities. The certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth provides a formal acknowledgment of the birth of the child. The format looks similar to a birth certificate and is issued for fetal deaths of 20 weeks or more gestation. The certificate contains information on the child and their parent(s). The fetal death certificate contains cause of death and disposition information.
We can help you with stillbirth records from January 1, 1957 to present.