Thurston County Superior Court Judges are authorized by law to perform marriage ceremonies in the State of Washington. Marriage ceremonies are performed both at the Thurston County Courthouse and at other agreed locations.
If you would like one of our judges to perform your wedding, please be aware that there are three things that must take place before the wedding can occur.
You apply for and are issued a marriage license from a county auditor in Washington.
The marriage license will be issued as part of a packet. Also included in the packet will be your marriage certificate and other information. For more information regarding marriage license, please go to the Thurston County Auditor’s Office.
You must schedule your wedding with us in person.
Superior Court Administration
2000 Lakeridge Drive SW, Building 2
Olympia, WA 98502
Monday – Friday, Except County holidays
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 and 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Note: A judge can perform a wedding from 3 days after a license is issued until the license expires.
The auditor's packet (license and certificates) and the gratuity must be delivered to Court Administration, at the same time you are scheduling your wedding.
Please be aware that statute requires that two witnesses over the age of 18 be present at the wedding.
If needed, we can provide witnesses for you for a fee (see below). You will need to schedule and pay for the witnesses at the time that you deliver the auditor’s packet to building #2, Court Administration.
Wedding Gratuity Schedule
$80 – Monday through Friday, 5:00 p.m. at the courthouse
$180 – Saturday or Sunday, between 8:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. at the courthouse
$200 –Saturday or Sunday, between 8:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. in the Olympia area
$200 – Holiday or holiday weekend
Additional gratuity applies for travel outside of the Olympia area.
Note: ONLY CASH IS ACCEPTED. Gratuity needs to be paid in exact cash at the time of booking.
Witness Gratuity Schedule
If we are providing witnesses, the amounts below are per witness.
$20.00 – Monday through Friday at the courthouse
$50.00 – Weekend at the courthouse
$60.00 – Holiday at the courthouse