Document Recording, Copying and Fees
During the 2023 legislative session, the Washington State Legislature passed 2SHB 1474, increasing the recording fee $100 for most documents. Certain documents are excluded from this fee. They include recording an assignment of deed of trust, birth certificates, marriage licenses, divorce decrees, death certificates, liens by certain local governments, wage liens, and substitution or appointment of trustee, among others.
The Auditor's Office provides a range of document recording services, including customer service to assist with searches for land records and other recorded documents. Learn more about our document recording services and how to get copies of our records below.
- We do not provide notary services.
- eRecording is the most efficient option for document recording.
- Please see "formatting requirements" below for specific instructions on how to prepare your documents.
- Please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org if you have any questions.
The Auditor’s Office is the last step in the recording process.
Once prepared, we will record your document, making it a public record available to our customers and preserved in perpetuity.
Once you prepare your document or have it prepared by an attorney or title company, you can:
- Submit it through one of our Electronic Recording vendors (see below); or
- Mail it to us for recording along with the appropriate fees;
- Bring it to our office:
Please note: You cannot use eRecording vendors when recording maps.
The Auditor's Office offers electronic document recording (eRecording). ERecording allows you to record your documents more quickly than mailing documents to the Auditor’s Office. You must submit documents through one of four contracted third-party vendors (see below).
Below we’ve included some answers to common questions about eRecording:
What types of documents can be electronically recorded?
You can use eRecording to submit all document types, with the exception of maps.
Do documents submitted for eRecording need to meet regular formatting requirements?
Yes, all regular formatting requirements apply to eRecording documents.
How do I pay for eRecorded documents?
Contracted vendors handle payments for eRecorded documents.
Which vendors have eRecording contracts with the Auditor’s Office?
Can individuals use eRecording vendors?
Contact our vendors to see which ones work best for you.
Do vendors have any additional requirements or restrictions?
Contact vendors directly to find out if they have additional requirements or restrictions.
We accept cash, check (made out to "Thurston County Auditor") and credit cards for payment. All credit cards will be charged a service fee of $2.00 or 2.35%, whichever is higher.
When preparing a document for recording, please follow Washington State formatting requirements.
Use these instructions as a guide to format your document correctly:
Document layout instructions (Word)
Below you can find copies of blank cover sheets for recording documents, if needed.
Please note: Some computers and printers may change the margins of the forms. To avoid rejection of recorded documents, please check to make sure it has correct margins.
Our office can provide you with photo copies and certified copies of recorded documents.
If you would like to order copies, we accept credit cards over the phone at 360.786.5405 (all credit cards will be charged a service fee of $2.00 or 2.35%, whichever is higher). You can also send a written request to:
Thurston County Auditor
Attn: Copy Request
3000 Pacific Ave. SE
Olympia, WA 98501
Please include the document's Auditor's File Number, a return address and a check or money order made payable to the “Thurston County Auditor.”
Photo copies cost $1.00 per page.
Certified copies of each document cost $3.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page.
Other Services & Fees
Bulk Images - $0.025 per Image
Maps (larger than 11" x 17")- $5.00 for the first page, $3.00 for each additional page per document.
EagleWeb Access - $725 for annual subscription
Property owners assigning a name to subdivided property must reserve a name for the property with the Auditor's Office. State law (RCW 65.04.050) requires this so no two subdivisions have the same or similar name.
Our office must approve the subdivision name even if the city or county has approved the name, since subdivisions may not have the same name within a county, not just a single city or town. You can check on the availability of the name you want by visiting our Public Record Index Online to see if any maps have been recorded using your desired name.
Thurston County Auditor
Attn: Plat Name Reservation
3000 Pacific Avenue SE
Olympia, WA 98501
After you submit the form, our office will evaluate the name. Once we approve your name, our office will issue a Plat Name Reservation Certificate. The certificate is valid for one year from the approval date and you must include it with the map when submitting for recording. Please allow two weeks for the approval process. If your project extends beyond the expiration date, please renew your name to get a new certificate. If we don't approve your name, we will contact you with an explanation and to go over your options.